
4  New York Labor Laws
Questions? Learn more by calling 1-800-745-9970

Official Print Size - 8.5” x 11”
Compliance Ready - Do Not Scale

PRINT

NEW YORK MINIMUM WAGE

If you have questions, need more information or want to file a complaint, please visit www.labor.ny.gov/minimumwage or call: 1-888-469-7365.

New York City
Large Employers (11 or more employees) Small Employers (10 or less employees)

Minimum Wage  $15.00 Minimum Wage  $15.00
Overtime after 40 hours $22.50 Overtime after 40 hours $22.50

Tipped workers      $15.00 Tipped workers      $15.00
Overtime after 40 hours      $22.50 Overtime after 40 hours      $22.50

Long Island and Westchester County

Minimum Wage  $15.00
Overtime after 40 hours $22.50

Tipped workers      $15.00
Overtime after 40 hours      $22.50

Remainder of New York State

Minimum Wage  $13.20
Overtime after 40 hours $19.80

Tipped workers      $13.20
Overtime after 40 hours      $19.80

Extra Pay you may be owed in addition to the minimum wage rates shown above:
• �Overtime – You must be paid 1½ times

your regular rate of pay (no less than
amounts shown above) for weekly hours
over 40 (or 44 for residential employees).
Exceptions: Overtime is not required for
salaried professionals, or for executives
and administrative staff whose weekly
salary is more than 75 times the minimum
wage rate.

• �Call-in pay – If you go to work as scheduled 
and your employer sends you home early,
you may be entitled to extra hours of pay
at the minimum wage rate for that day.

• �Spread of hours – If your workday lasts
longer than ten hours, you may be entitled 
to extra daily pay. The daily rate is equal
to one hour of pay at the minimum wage
rate.

• �Uniform maintenance – If you clean your own 
uniform, you may be entitled to additional
weekly pay. The weekly rates are available
online.
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Minimum Wage hourly rates effective 12/31/2020 – 12/30/2021
Attention Miscellaneous Industry Employees

Credits and Allowances that may reduce your pay below the minimum wage rates shown above:
• �Tips – Beginning December 31, 2020, your

employer must pay the full applicable
minimum wage rate, and cannot take any
tip credit.

• �Meals and lodging – Your employer may claim a limited amount of your wages for meals and 
lodging that they provide to you, as long as they do not charge you anything else. The rates
and requirements are set forth in wage orders and summaries, which are available online.
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