

#### New York State Department of Motor Vehicles APPLICATION FOR LICENSE PLATES OR PARKING PERMITS FOR PERSONS WITH SEVERE DISABILITIES



Part 1 INFORMATION ABOUT I	PERSON WITH DISAE	BILITY —(Please print, and		
			( )	
Address: No. and Street	Apt. No.	City	Stat	e Zip Code
Date of Birth / / Male Fen	nale I am applying for	License Plates (Apply to DMV.)	Parking Perm	it (Apply to local issuing agent.
Do you have license plates for person	ns with disabilities?	Yes - My license plate num	nber is:	🗆 No
See Note on Page 2				
•				
(Signature of Person with Disability or S guardian, please state your relationsh				(Date)
Part 2 MEDICAL CERTIFICATION (DO) or Doctor of Podiatric Medicin				
Check the box(es) that describ TEMPORARY DISABILITY: A the aid of an assisting device device. (Temporary permits are iss Diagnosis: What assistive device is nee	person with a temporary s, such as a brace, cane, cr sued for periods of six mo	disability is any person who is rutch, prosthetic device, anoth		chair, walker or other assistiv
PERMANENT DISABILITY: A disabilities or conditions listed b Diagnosis:		ity.		ERMANENT impairments, nditions that apply:
Uses portable oxygen Leg	ally blind I imited			
□ Neuromuscular dysfunction that				
Severely limited in ability to v				ican neart Assoc. standards
<ul> <li>Restricted by lung disease to s spirometry, is less than one lit</li> </ul>	such an extent that forced	d (respiratory) expiratory vo	lume for one sec	
Has a physical or mental impa imposes <u>unusual hardship in the difficulty</u> . EXPLAIN HOW T	ne use of public transpor	tation and prevents the perso	on from getting a	
MD/DO/DPM Name			Professio	nal License No.
MD/DO/DPM Address			Telephor	e No.
			(	)
See Note on Page 2				
()	ID/DO/DPM Signature)			(Date)
Part 3 FILE INFORMATION (For	r Issuing Agent Use Only):			
PERMIT: Permanent	MIT: Dermanent Dermorary Parking Permit No Issuance Date:			
□ First □ Second		Expiration Date:		
Denied Revoked Reason:				
				(Date)
·	(Issuing Agent)			(Locality)

# NOTE TO CUSTOMERS AND DOCTORS

It is important for you to know that making a false statement, or providing misinformation on an application to obtain or facilitate the receipt of a parking permit or license plates for persons with a disability is subject to **fines ranging from \$250 to \$1,000** under Section 1203-a(4) of the NYS Vehicle and Traffic Law and is punishable as a **misdemeanor** under Section 210.45 of the NYS Penal Law.

## Customers Requesting License Plates, or a Parking Permit, for Persons with a Disability

By signing Part 1 of this application, you are certifying:

- that the information you provide on this application is true;
- that you have read and understand the "Conditions for Using License Plates and Parking Permits" stated on form MV-664.3; and
- that you agree to comply with those conditions.

## <u>Doctors Providing Medical Information in Support of an Application for License Plates, or a</u> <u>Parking Permit, for Persons with a Disability</u>

By signing Part 2 of this application, you are certifying:

- that the medical information you are providing is true and complete; and
- that, in your opinion, the person named in Part 1 of the application is medically qualified to receive license plates, or a parking permit, for persons with a disability, according to the medical criteria specified in Part 2.



#### New York State Department of Motor Vehicles HOW TO APPLY FOR LICENSE PLATES OR PARKING PERMITS FOR PERSONS WITH SEVERE DISABILITIES



www.nysdmv.com

#### **GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS**

You are eligible for license plates or a parking permit for the disabled if you are a New York State resident who has one or more severe **disabilities** that impair your **mobility**. See Part 2 of the MV-664.1 (Application for License Plates or Parking Permits For Persons With Severe Disabilities) for a description of **qualifying disabilities**.

#### 1) If you are applying for license plates:

- (a) Your disability **must** be permanent.
- (b) The vehicle on which the special plates will be used must be **registered to the person with the disability**, whether or not that person drives. You must be 16 years old to have a vehicle registered in your name.
- (c) Fill out Part 1 of the MV-664.1 application. Have your physician or podiatrist complete Part 2 of that application and <u>return it to you</u>. <u>NOTE</u>: The need for a medical certification may be waived by the Motor Vehicles office if you are permanently disabled and if you have an obvious, visually-identifiable disability (such as the loss of a leg <u>OR</u> if you received a parking permit for the disabled within the past year). Fill out Part 1 of the application and <u>attach a copy of your permit application</u> showing the medical certification, or doctor's statement, and bring your permit with you.
- (d) You can obtain the plates at any Motor Vehicles office. Bring the completed application with you.
  - If you are registering your vehicle for the first time, you must provide all of the items required for an original registration, including the proof of disability.
  - If you already have plates on your car, bring them with you to exchange them for plates for persons with severe disabilities. You will have to fill out a registration application (MV-82) and pay \$5.50 for the new plates that show the International Symbol of Access (ISA). If this transaction is done at any time other than when you renew the vehicle registration, a \$3.00 transaction fee will be charged.
  - Also available from our Custom Plates office are:
    - Motorcycle plates with the ISA: Send the completed MV-664.1 application (or a doctor's statement), a copy of your current
      motorcycle registration, and a check for \$7.25 (\$4.25 plate fee and \$3.00 transaction fee) payable to the Commissioner of
      Motor Vehicles, to the address below.
    - Personalized plates with up to six characters and the ISA (for an additional charge): Please write to the DMV Custom Plates Office, 6 Empire State Plaza, Albany NY 12228, or call (518) 474-6660 or 1-800-364-7528.

#### 2) If you are applying for the parking permit:

#### NOTE: DO NOT SEND YOUR APPLICATION TO THE DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES. DMV does NOT issue parking permits.

- (a) A parking permit may be issued for either a permanent or temporary disability.
- (b) You **do not** have to be a driver, or the registered owner of a vehicle, to get a parking permit. Children who have a qualifying disability **are** eligible for permits at any age, as are persons who are legally blind. Permits are **issued in the name of the person with the disability**.
- (c) Fill out Part 1 of the application (MV-664.1). Have your physician or podiatrist complete Part 2 of the application and <u>return it to you</u>. <u>NOTE</u>: The need for medical certification may be waived by the issuing agent if you have an obvious, visually-identifiable disability (such as the loss of a leg) **OR** if you **already** have license plates for persons with severe disabilities. Fill out Part 1 of the application and attach a copy of your registration to your application. If you have custom plates for persons with severe disabilities, bring a photo of your plate showing the wheelchair symbol.
- (d) NASSAU COUNTY residents should call (516) 571- 3147 (the Nassau County Office of the Physically Challenged) to find out where to apply for a permit.

**NEW YORK CITY** residents must send the MV-664.1 application to the NYC Department of Transportation, 28-11 Queens Plaza North, 8th Floor, Long Island City, NY 11101-4008, or call (718) 433-3100. If you already have plates for persons with severe disabilities, complete Part 1 and attach a copy of your registration. If you have custom plates for persons with severe disabilities, attach a photo of your plate showing the ISA. <u>Please note important information about "PARKING IN NEW YORK CITY" on page 2</u>.

ALL OTHER NEW YORK STATE RESIDENTS - Call your local city, town or village hall to find out where the nearest permit issuing agent is located. Most city, town or village clerks, and some police departments, issue permits.

Take your completed application to the issuing agent in the area where you live.

- (e) Contact your local issuing agent if you need additional information:
  - although most agents accept the MV-664.1, some have their own application form.
  - not all agents issue permits for temporary disabilities.

## CONDITIONS FOR USING LICENSE PLATES AND PARKING PERMITS

- The plates and permits may be used to park in reserved parking spaces **only when the person with the disability is driving or riding in the vehicle**. People who are not disabled cannot use your parking permit and/or plates to park in a reserved space. Persons parking illegally in these spaces violate Section 1203-c(4) of the NYS Vehicle and Traffic Law and can be fined not less than \$50 or more than \$75 for a first offense, and \$75 to \$150 for a second offense within two years. Municipalities can impose higher fines. Any person who abuses any privilege, benefit, precedence or consideration arising from possession of the license plates or permit, may have them revoked. An additional \$30 surcharge is required, the proceeds of which are used to support handicapped parking education programs, local criminal justice programs, and disability awareness programs for law enforcement agencies.
- Parking permits SHOULD be hung from the rear-view mirror when parked, but should BE REMOVED from the mirror when DRIVING.
- The plates and permits are valid everywhere in New York State where parking spaces are reserved for persons with disabilities (see NYC exception below). However, use of the plates or permit does not exempt you from state or local parking regulations or fees. They are also valid in most other states, territories and foreign countries. If you are traveling outside of New York, check with the police or Motor Vehicles agency where you are traveling, to be sure your permit or plate will be accepted.
- Parking spaces reserved for people with disabilities must be marked with conspicuous and permanently installed abovegrade signs displaying the wheelchair symbol. These signs are positioned at a height of five to seven feet above the parking space surface. Designation of reserved spaces may include the use of blue painted lines or markings. Do not park in the striped access aisle next to spaces reserved for people with disabilities even if you have a permit or plates. Access aisles provide room for people with wheelchairs and other specially equipped vehicles to transfer safely to and from their vehicles.
- Localities designate parking spaces for persons with disabilities by local law or ordinance. If you have a question about parking for the disabled on a particular street, find out if it is a county, city, town, village or state road, and contact the authorities responsible for maintaining the road. If you have a question about reserved parking at any facility with off-street parking, contact the facility manager or the local building inspector.

### PARKING IN NEW YORK CITY

New York City does <u>not</u> set aside reserved spaces on its streets for persons with disabilities, and **you cannot use the state parking permit or disabled license plates to park on the streets of NYC**. Such **parking is only available off-street**, in parking lots for shopping centers/malls, office/apartment buildings and college campuses. You can use the state plates and permits to park in designated spaces in those off-street lots.

The NYC Department of Transportation also issues a <u>City permit</u> (a rectangular dashboard permit) that allows persons with severe disabilities to park <u>on NYC streets</u>. City permits are issued to New York City residents and to people who work or attend school in NYC, and who have a permanent disability that so severely affects their ability to walk that they require the use of a private automobile. <u>The New York City parking permit is not valid for parking outside of NYC</u>. To obtain an application for a NYC permit, call (718) 433-3100.